Berlin art adventure summer 2014

After 4 years of art school – I’m moving away to Berlin in 5 weeks. I don’t know how long I will be going for and exactly what my internship will be like so I just bought a one way ticket to go and begin my new adventure. My best friend Roisin is also going- which is great cause now I won’t look like an idiot on my own getting lost- I’ll have her by my side. Anyway I’ve always loved Germany, the culture, the language and the food, goodness especially saurkraut . Since I was a young I always used to follow the National German football team when watching the World Cup –  my dream marrying Michele Ballack didn’t come true however I’m now old enough to move away to Berlin. My dad works in Germany now and again- so it will be now easier to me to see him. I studied German for 5 years in school- so no, I’m not good at it- but I’m looking forward to try and learn it.

The Berlin biennale is also on this year 2014- a contemporary art event that is held every two years in Berlin – I’ve been researching all the exhibitions that will be on when I’m there – So I’ve decided to make a list on my blog – for the art guides and exhibitions that are coming up and what I want to see- I’ll also keep updating my ‘exhibitions’ page when I have visited these exhibitions and tell you what I think . 🙂

 

http://www.exberliner.com/culture/art/bowie-on-display/ – Here’s a link to Bowie’s exhibition that opens on the 20th May – DAVID BOWIE IS opens May 20 through Aug 10, Martin-Gropius-Bau, Niederkirchnerstr. 7, Kreuzberg, U-Bhf Potsdamer Platz, Mon-Sun 10-20

Link to 8th Berlin Biennale- http://www.berlinbiennale.de/venues

Image

The 8th Berlin Biennale brings together a range of international artistic positions that explore the intersection between larger historical narratives and individuals’ lives. The majority of the participating artists have produced new works for the exhibition, which proposes new perspectives on the facets of and relations in history. It spans four distinct venues in western Berlin and Berlin-Mitte—Haus am Waldsee, Museen Dahlem – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, KW Institute for Contemporary Art, and Crash Pad c/o KW. The exhibition is on view from May 29 until August 3, 2014.

artists include : Shahryar Nashat
Andreas Angelidakis
Julieta Aranda
Tarek Atoui
Patrick Alan Banfield
Zachary Cahill
Tacita Dean
Mariana Castillo Debal

Works are displayed in different locations throughout Berlin.

 http://www.timeout.com/berlin/en/art-galleries/where-to-see-art-in-berlin – Lovely link for all the galleries that display contemporary art in Berlin

I will keep updating this when I collect more exhibitions to post – if you have any recommendations for me to go and see when I’m in Berlin let me know 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

